Integration Joint Board

From the 1st of April 2016, following a shadow year, the Integration Joint Board took responsibility for planning, commissioning and overseeing the delivery of a wide range of health and social care functions.

These functions will be delivered in an integrated way, primarily by South Lanarkshire Council and NHS Lanarkshire – known collectively as South Lanarkshire Health and Social Care Partnership. Unpaid carers, the voluntary sector and the independent sector are key partners too.

IJB Voting Members 

South Lanarkshire Council (elected members):
Councillors Margaret Walker (Vice Chair), Maureen Chalmers, Eileen Logan, John Bradley,
Councillors Catherine McClymont, Hugh Macdonald, Allan Falconer and Elise Frame.

NHS Lanarkshire Board:
Lesley McDonald (Chair) Lilian Macer, Donald Reid and Lesley Thomson


Director of Health and Social Care

Soumen Sengupta is the Director of Health and Social Care for South Lanarkshire.

Alongside being Chief Officer for the South Lanarkshire Health and Social Care Partnership, he fulfils the role of:

  • Director of Social Work Services for South Lanarkshire Council, with strategic responsibility for the Children and Justice Services.
  • Director of Primary Care for NHS Lanarkshire, providing strategic leadership for pan-Lanarkshire Primary Care services.

His appointment as Director followed an extensive career in public health and in health and social care management; and his having led strategic transformation programmes at local, regional and national levels.

Soumen has a MSc in Public Health from the University of Aberdeen and an MBA from the University of Strathclyde.


You can view the Board agendas, minutes and associated key documents along with the Protocol for Livestreamed Meetings.


You can also view the Briefing papers from the Integration Joint Board Meetings.


Please use the following link to access the Livestream for the IJB Meeting on 28  June 2022:

South Lanarkshire Integration Joint Board (Special) - YouTube